Express Lane

 
HOME > 24/7 SUPPORT

Defensive Driving Online Course 24/7 SUPPORT

Our CERTIFIED AGENTS are ready to help. Call toll-free 855-366-1814 today.

Here are a few Defensive Driving Online Course questions and answers that many have found helpful.


Type a search term in the box below to narrow the FAQ list:

    General

  • What are some of the benefits of taking this course?

    First and foremost, our educational material will help you be a better, safer driver. After successfully completing the course you may also be eligible for insurance discounts or a ticket dismissal.

  • How do I find out if I am eligible for this driving safety class?

    Anyone can take a driving safety class. If you are trying to get a ticket dismissed, you must ask for approval to take a driving safety class from the court that issued the ticket, before you complete the course. If you are not sure if your ticket qualifies, speak with someone at the office your ticket refers you to.

    If you are trying to get an insurance discount, you should check with a representative from your insurance agency to ensure that you are eligible for the discount.

  • Is this course taken solely over the internet?

    Yes, through our unique verification process you can take the full course from any phone, tablet, or desktop computer. You will not be required to go to a specific location or the DMV.

  • Why is taking an online defensive driving course better than a classroom course?

    By taking a class online, you can take the course at any time of day or night and finish the course at your own pace. If your court is in our e-filing network, we can send proof of successful completion instantly, so you do not have to return to the court. We are the only Driver’s Safety Course provider in Texas that offers this benefit. Click here to see if your court is in our e-filing network.

  • How long will this course take to complete?

    Texas state law requires that you attend the course for at least 6 hours. You can take all 6 hours in one session, or you can divide it up however you want. When you log back into the course, you will start where you left off.

  • Is there a time limit to complete this course?

    Yes, you must complete the course within 120 days of registering. Students who do not complete the course within 120 days will be shown to have withdrawn from the course which constitutes a failed attempt and therefore no refund will be granted.

  • Do I have to take your entire course all at once?

    No, you don’t have to take all 6 hours in one session; you can divide it up however you want. When you log back into the course, you will start where you left off, even if you were in the middle of a video!

  • Can I take this course on my smartphone?

    Yes, you can take the course on almost any smartphone. Because this course uses videos and interactive controls, older devices must be flash-enabled. Newer devices will be able to access videos via HTML5. Start for free to see if your device is compatible. If you can see the first video, then your device is compatible.

  • Do I have to take your entire course on the same computer?

    No, you can switch between devices at any time. Just log in and you can start where you left off even if you were in the middle of a video!

  • Is your course approved in the State of Texas?

    Yes, our course is certified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and all courts in the state of Texas accept our certificates to dismiss traffic tickets. Our Course Provider number is CP#550.

  • Is your course offered in any languages other than English?

    Currently our course is only offered in English.

  • How do I begin the course?

    Click the “Start for free” link on any page of the ExpressLane website.

  • How do I get a certified 3A copy of my Texas Driving Record?

    Some Texas courts require you to provide a copy of your Texas Driving Record along with proof of course completion to dismiss a ticket. You will have the option of purchasing a copy of your Texas Driving Record (a certified 3A record) through ExpressLane. You will have access to your driving record once you complete the course. In order for us to obtain a copy of your driving record, you must provide the following information:

    • Date of birth
    • Last 4 digits of your Social Security Number
    • Texas driver's license number
    • Texas DPS Audit Number (located on your current Texas driver's license)

    NOTE: If you have recently ordered a new driver's license, wait until you receive your newly issued driver's license by mail and provide the Texas DPS Audit Number from the newly issued card.

    Failure to provide information as described above may delay the processing and delivery of your driving record. ExpressLane will attempt to process and deliver your driving record up to 120 days after you have completed the course. After these 120 days, if you are no longer active on the site, ExpressLane will stop attempting to process your driving record. To ensure there are no issues processing your driving record, please double check that you have entered the information accurately on your account.

  • If I order my driving record through ExpressLane, how will I receive it?

    Your driving record will be e-mailed to you at the e-mail address you used to set up your account. You will also have access to it on your account at www.expresslanedefensivedriving.com. Click the “My Account” link while logged in and select “Delivery Status.” The password to open your driving record is your driver's license number.

  • I received the e-mail with my driving record, but I don’t know my password. How do I open it?

    To open your driving record, the password is your driver's license number.

  • My driver’s license is from a state other than Texas. Can I still order my driving record through ExpressLane?

    Unfortunately, we can only obtain driving records for individuals with a driver's license issued by the state of Texas.

  • I lost my driver’s license and am waiting for a new one. Can I still order my driving record through ExpressLane?

    We are unable to retrieve your driving record without the DPS Audit Number from your current Texas driver's license. The DPS Audit Number is reset for each new driver’s license issued. You will need to wait until you receive your new driver's license by mail and provide the new DPS Audit Number once the new ID arrives.

  • Quizzes

  • Are there quizzes in your course?

    Yes, each video is followed by a multiple choice question and each lesson is followed by a short quiz. You will also be asked questions to confirm your identity 10 times throughout the course.

  • Does this course have a final exam?

    No, instead of a final exam, you take a short quiz after each lesson.

  • How do you determine the questions on a quiz?

    The questions are selected to emphasize main points from the previous lesson. If you are having trouble with the questions, review the material that was in the previous lesson.

  • How do I know if I passed?

    You will only be able to progress to the next chapter after you have passed the quiz for the previous chapter. You are also required to answer at least 70% of the identity confirmation questions correctly.

  • What happens if I fail a quiz?

    If you fail a quiz, you will be allowed to review the materials in that chapter and then try the quiz again with new questions.

  • Can I fail the course?

    If you answer less than 70% of the identity confirmation questions correctly you will fail the course. Also, if you fail to complete the course within 120 days of registering you will be shown to have withdrawn from the course which constitutes a failed attempt. Withdrawal from the course more than 30 days after registration and failure of the course are both nonrefundable. However, you may re-enroll and pay for the course again.

  • Eligibility

  • Will taking this course dismiss my traffic ticket?

    Yes, our course is certified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and all courts in the state of Texas accept our certificates to dismiss traffic tickets. Our Course Provider number is CP#550.

  • Will this course reduce my insurance rates?

    All TDLR-approved courses typically reduce insurance rates by up to 10%, but you should speak to your insurance agent to find out how much you could save.

  • What if my due date for attending a defensive driving course has passed?

    Call the court listed on your ticket. They may allow you to have an extension for extenuating circumstances or they may have a grace period in place.

  • What if I received a ticket in Texas, but live in another state or do not have a current Texas Driver’s License?

    If you do not have a Texas Driver’s License or if you don’t have identity verification information in our system, you can still take our course. When you are asked to provide this information, you will be given the option to download an affidavit, which affirms that the information you have provided is correct and that you are the person who actually took the course. You will need to sign the affidavit and have it notarized.
    PLEASE NOTE: AFFIDAVITS MAY NOT BE APPROVED UNTIL THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY. YOUR COURSE IS NOT CONSIDERED COMPLETED UNTIL THE AFFIDAVIT IS APPROVED, SO BE SURE TO ALLOW YOURSELF ENOUGH TIME BEFORE YOUR DUE DATE.

  • Am I required to provide an email address?

    Yes, you are required to provide an email address, which will be used as your username. We will not share your email address with any other company and we will only email you to confirm your registration and to notify you that you have completed the course.

  • If I realize I made a mistake during registration and my personal information is incorrect, what do I do?

    If you have registered your account with incorrect information, please call our 24/7 Support line or use our Live Chat Help to speak with one of our representatives, who can correct your information.

  • How long do I have to take the course?

    After registration, you have 120 days to finish the course, before you will be shown to have withdrawn from the course which constitutes a failed attempt. Withdrawal from the course after more than 30 days is nonrefundable. This should not be confused with the deadline given to you by the court. Usually a court will give you 90 days from the date you were approved to take the course. If you do not meet the court’s deadline, you will not be able to get your ticket dismissed.

  • Registration

  • How do I register?

    1. Just click Start for free and after the first lesson, you will be asked to register. You can also click the Register button at the top of the screen to register at any time.
    2. You will then be asked for your personal information (First Name, Last Name, Email, and Password), this will be used to create an account. Write down the email address and password you use, so that you can access your account in the future.
    3. If you are taking the course for insurance purposes only, mark the corresponding checkbox. Then click Continue.
    4. If you are taking the course to get a ticket dismissed, select the court that issued the ticket. You also have the option to enter the date the certificate is due to the court. Then click Continue.
    5. Select one of the packages of products on the left side of the screen or select the Custom Package to choose exactly which products you want. Select the shipping choice for your certificate. Enter your billing information and click Pay Now.
    6. After you have paid, the course will begin. If you have started work on the course prior to paying, the course will resume where it left off.
  • Who will need to upload a notarized affidavit?

    As per TDLR regulations, we are required to validate a student's identity using two different sources. ExpressLane uses Texas DPS and DMV data for identity verification. This information is pulled through the driver's license number (DPS) and license plate number (DMV). If a student's information cannot be found in either of those sources, then he/she will be required to complete, notarize, and upload an affidavit.
    PLEASE NOTE: AFFIDAVITS MAY NOT BE APPROVED UNTIL THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY. YOUR COURSE IS NOT CONSIDERED COMPLETED UNTIL THE AFFIDAVIT IS APPROVED, SO BE SURE TO ALLOW YOURSELF ENOUGH TIME BEFORE YOUR DUE DATE.

  • Payment

  • How much does this course cost?

    This course requires a low, one-time payment of $25. If you want to expedite the shipping of your course completion certificate, additional fees will apply. ExpressLane also has a convenient e-filing service that will let you send proof of successful completion directly to the court, if the court is in our network. Click here to see if your court is in our e-filing network.

  • Can I start the course for free?

    Yes, just click the Start for Free button on any page.

  • Is using Credit/Debit cards online safe?

    Yes, our payment processing server is secure and we use the most up-to-date technology to keep your information safe.

  • I do not want to use my credit card number online; can I pay over the phone?

    No, at this time, only online payments are supported.

  • If I pay now, how long until I can start the course?

    Paying online allows you to begin immediately. With ExpressLane, you can even start the course for free.

  • What types of credit and debit cards do you accept?

    We take all major credit and debit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.

  • What is the Course Code on the payment screen?

    We have ongoing partnerships with organizations that may give out a course code for our online course. If you have received one of these codes, you can enter it here. This is an optional field.

  • Using the Course

  • If I'm already registered how do I get back to my course?

    Click the “Resume Course” link in the top-right corner of the page.

  • How do I log out?

    To log out, simply click the Log Out link in the top-right corner of the screen.

  • How do I navigate between sections?

    You will be automatically advanced to the next section after you pass the quiz for a session and the allotted time has passed. To return to a previous section, click the section number folder icon at the bottom of the screen, then click the icon for the subsection you want to go to.

  • I have forgotten my user name and password. What do I do?

    Click the Login link at the top of the screen. Then click the “Forgot you password?” link. Enter your email and click Continue. Within a few minutes you will receive an email with a password reset link. Click the link and re-enter your email address and select a new password. Then click Login. Your password is now reset. If you do not receive an email within a few minutes, you may need to check your junk email folder. If you do not receive an email within 20 minutes, use our Live Chat Help or call our support line at (855) 366-1814.

  • Contact Info

  • Do you have live chat support online?

    Yes, click on the “24/7 Support” link and click the “Live Chat Help” button to speak to a representative.

  • Do you have 24-hour support?

    Yes, our representatives are waiting to assist you via chat or on the phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. Click here to start a live chat.

  • What is your phone number?

    The phone number for our support office is (855) 366-1814.

  • Do you have the contact numbers for the courts?

    The court information should be on the citation you received.

  • Certificate

  • Can you send my Certificate of Completion to the court electronically?

    With our convenient e-filing system, we can send proof of successful completion to most major courts in Texas electronically. To see if your court supports e-filing, click here and enter your court information. You will still receive a course completion certificate in the mail for your records. Remember, students still have an obligation to verify that all issues are resolved with the courts as stated in § 45.0511 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. In addition, any student who purchases e-filing will receive an email notification from ExpressLane Defensive Driving the moment proof of successful completion is delivered to the court and filed by the court.

  • What if my court doesn’t support e-filing?

    If your court does not support e-filing, you will need to show the court the completion certificate that we will mail you. If you are in a hurry, we offer expedited shipping, including Next Day shipping.

  • What are your delivery options?

    We have the following delivery options for your certificate of completion:

    • Standard mail – FREE!

    FOR FED EX DELIVERY-- COURSE MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE 3 P.M. IN ORDER FOR THE CERTIFICATE TO SHIP THAT SAME DAY

    • Three Day Delivery – $13.00
    • Next Day Delivery (Evening) – $18.00 (typically by 8:30 pm the following business day)
    • Next Day Delivery (Morning) – $22.00 (typically by 10:30 am the following business day)
  • Can I print out my certificate once I have completed the course?

    No. Defensive Driving Schools are required to print certificates on special paper to prevent copying or alteration. Unfortunately, this makes it impossible for students to print their own. ExpressLane offers various expedited shipping options, and if your court is in our e-filing network, we can e-file your certificate and driving record as soon as you complete the course!

  • Who is your shipping provider?

    For expedited shipping including overnight AM/PM and three day, we use Federal Express. For standard mail, we use the U.S. Postal Service.

  • Can I change the delivery option I selected at registration?

    Yes, if you select “Standard Shipping” when you register, you may still upgrade to any other faster shipping when you complete the course.

  • When will I receive my certificate?

    If you choose Standard Shipping, you can expect you receive your ticket within 7-10 days. If you have not received a certificate after 10 business days, please call (855) 366-1814.

  • My certificate is due today. Should I still take a defensive driving course?

    ExpressLane has a convenient e-filing system that allows you to send proof of successful completion to the court as soon as you have completed the course. Click here to see if your court is in our e-filing network.

    If your court is not in our e-filing network, you should know that some courts have grace periods for accepting defensive driving course certificates. You should call the court and get further information to ensure you will receive credit for the course.

  • I finished my course by my due date and was required to upload an affidavit. Why isn’t the completion date on my certificate the date I finished the course?

    A course is considered complete when all documentation is properly completed and approved. If an affidavit is required to verify your identity, the completion date on your course certificate will be the date we verify and approve your uploaded affidavit. If you upload an incomplete affidavit (i.e. missing information, not notarized, and/or missing a photo ID), this will delay the completion date for your course certificate.
    PLEASE NOTE: AFFIDAVITS MAY NOT BE APPROVED UNTIL THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY. YOUR COURSE IS NOT COMPLETED UNTIL THE AFFIDAVIT IS APPROVED, SO BE SURE TO ALLOW YOURSELF ENOUGH TIME BEFORE YOUR DUE DATE.

  • I have lost my Certificate. Is there a way for me to get another copy?

    We can send you a duplicate certificate for a $10 fee. To purchase a duplicate certificate, navigate to the My Account link and click Purchase Options while logged into your account.

  • I selected the wrong information for my course certificate (e.g. court name, first or last name, dl#). How can I fix it?

    If we have already mailed your certificate of completion, you can purchase an amended certificate for a $10 fee per Texas law. To purchase an amended certificate, navigate to the My Account link and click Purchase Options. Amended certificate fields include court name, first or last name, driver's license number, phone number and date of birth.

    If we haven't mailed your course certificate yet, please contact 855-366-1814 to have the information corrected.

  • After completing this course, who's responsible for ensuring the court has my completion certificate?

    The responsibility to ensure a court receives the certificate of completion, as stated in § 45.0511 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, is solely with the student.

  • When are certificates mailed out?

    Certificates are mailed out during business hours: Monday - Friday (holidays excluded). Certificates will be mailed out on the next business day if the course is completed after 3:00 PM Central. This includes all shipping methods.

  • What if my certificate delivery is delayed due to uncontrollable circumstances?

    ExpressLane is not responsible and cannot provide a refund for shipping delays caused by weather, carrier factors, student error, holiday related factors, or any other unforeseen problems. However, we do promise to make sure you receive a certificate as quickly as possible.

  • Troubleshooting

  • What are the system requirements for taking your course?

    Our course works best when you use one of the following browsers:

  • How do I save my work?

    You don’t have to! Your information is automatically saved and we will track your progress throughout the course. So if you need to take a break or sign in from another device, you will start right where you left off, even if you were in the middle of a video!

  • Do I need any special software to take this course?

    No special software is required; the entire course will run in your internet browser.

  • What if I lose my internet connection or my computer freezes while I am taking your course?

    Don’t worry, the website regularly logs your progress, so if you are disconnected for any reason, you will be able to resume right where you left off.

  • What plugins do I need for your website and where do I get them?

    Browser Requirements

    • Windows (Windows 7, Windows XP SP1 or higher)

      • Supported Browsers

    • Mac

    • Mobile Device Requirements

      • Supported Apple Devices (all require iOS 7 or newer, the latest iOS is recommended)

        • iPhone
        • iPod Touch
        • iPad
      • Supported Android Versions

        • 2.3 (Gingerbread)
        • 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich)
        • 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
        • 4.4 (KitKat)
        • 5.0 (Lollipop)
        • 6.0 (Marshmallow)
    • Other Devices

      • Other devices that support HTML 5 may work. To find out if your device works, navigate to Expresslane on your mobile device and click Start for Free. If you can see the video and then answer the questions, your device is likely supported.
  • The pages on your site are not loading. What should I do?

    If pages stop loading while you are taking the course, you may be having trouble connecting with your Internet Service Provider. If the problem persists, you can sign out of the course, disable and re-enable your internet connection and then sign back into the course.

  • The video in my course is not showing up. How do I fix this?

    If you are using an older device, you may need to update your flash player. Visit the Adobe Flash Player page
    for more information.

  • Policies

  • Do you share my personal data with 3rd parties?

    No, we will only share your data with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), which is required by law for any defensive driving course. If you use our e-filing option, your information may be shared with the court to ensure that your citation is dismissed.

  • What is the course cancellation/refund policy?

    If you cancel your enrollment within 30 days of registration, you will be issued a full refund less a processing fee of $8. If you fail the course or have completed the course, you will not be issued a refund.

  • What is your Cancellation policy? Will I get a refund?

    If you cancel your enrollment within 30 days of registration, you will be issued a full refund less a processing fee of $8. If you fail the course or have completed the course, you will not be issued a refund.

  • What is the course usage policy?

    You will not be awarded credit if the course is completed by someone who is not the registered user, or if the registered user gets help from an outside party. Providing false information or misrepresenting your identity may constitute a felony.

  • What is your privacy policy?

    We will only use your information to verify your identity, track your compliance, and process your payments. Click here to view our full privacy policy.

  • What is your security policy?

    • We do not store any credit card information.
    • Any stored passwords are encrypted.
    • All of our software is certified by the PCI (Payment Card Industry) Council to use best practices when
      handling private information, such as your credit card number. For more information, please visit the PCI
      website: https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/
    • All traffic on our site is through an encrypted SSL connection.
Defensive Driving Online Texas

Test Drive the Defensive Driving Online Course that SAVES YOU TIME.

This state-certified Defensive Driving Course is one of the most convenient defensive driving online Texas courses around. Best of all, if you have received your ticket in certain courts served by this defensive driving online Texas course, we will send proof of successful completion directly to the court, saving you time and effort. This unique service makes ExpressLane the fastest of the defensive driving Online Texas courses on the the web today. START FOR FREE »
The FASTEST Defensive Driving Texas Course Around.
Begin Your Time-Saving Defensive Driving Texas Online Course Now.
ExpressLane Courses Start at $25 ExpressLane Courses TX TDLR AC225 Approved